• Emergency Management Home Page• Ministry Home Page• Government of British Columbia
Emergency Management BC

The Minister


Reports & Publications


Enquiry BC



Public Safety
Lifeline Volunteers

Community Emergency
Planning, Response
and Recovery

Emergency Management

Provincial Planning

Disaster Financial Assistance


Funding Programs

Incident Summaries

Inter-Agency Emergency
Preparedness Council


Kids and Teachers

Key Agency Links

Site Map




When British Columbia has declared an event eligible for Disaster Financial Assistance (DFA), the DFA program can provide financial assistance to restore uninsurable private property and/or public infrastructure damaged in the disaster. Recommendations for DFA are made to Emergency Management BC by local authorities. Citizens are directed to contact their local authority if they have been impacted by a disaster or emergency event.

To be eligible for assistance, the damage must be from an event which is uninsurable including overland flooding and groundwater seepage. Insurable damages, such as sewer or sump pit back-up, water entry from above ground including roofs, windows or other areas of the building that are not at ground level, are not eligible for DFA. Snow load, wind, fire and earthquake damage are also insurable and therefore not eligible for assistance. Damages from certain landslides may be eligible, provided it can be shown that the landslide is the direct result of heavy rainfall or other sudden catastrophic event, and not caused by pre-existing slope instability. Read Summary of DFA Program for a summary of what applicants should be aware of before applying for assistance.

Disaster Events Currently Declared Eligible for Assistance
Those impacted by the following recent disaster or emergency
event(s) may be eligible to apply for disaster financial assistance.

Type or Event: Overland Flooding

Date of Event: December 8-12, 2014

Geographic Area:

Vancouver Island:
Alberni Clayoquot Regional District
Campbell River, City of
Comox Valley Regional District (Areas A,B,C)
Comox, Town of
Courtenay, City of
Cumberland, Village of
Hupacasath First Nation
Ladysmith, Town of
Nanaimo Regional District (All Areas)
Nanaimo, City of
Parksville, City of
Port Alberni, City of
Powell River Regional District (Area A,B,C)
Powell River, City of
Qualicum Beach, Town of
Snuneymuxw First Nation
Strathcona Regional District (Areas A,D)
Tsehaht First Nation

Lower Mainland:
Delta, City of
Douglas First Nation
Fraser Valley Regional District
Gibsons, Town of
Lions Bay, Village of
Mount Currie Nation
North Vancouver, City of
North Vancouver, District of
Pemberton, Village of
Richmond, City of
Samahquam First Nation
Sechelt, District of
Skatin First Nation
Squamish Lillooet Regional District
Squamish, District of
Sunshine Coast Regional District
West Vancouver, District of
Whistler, Resort Community of

90 day deadline for applications: March 12, 2015.

For further information on Disaster Financial Assistance call toll-free 1-888-257-4777

Application Forms and General Information:

General Public / Private Sector
(Home Owner, Residential Tenant, Small Business Owner, Farm Owner, Charitable Organization)

Local Government

• Top   • Copyright   • Disclaimer   • Privacy • Feedback